Yale College Environmental Studies Affiliated Faculty

  • Hagik Affek, Yale Department of Geology and Geophysics, hagik.affek@yale.edu: climate reconstruction, clumped isotopic composition and associated fluxes
  • Shimon Anisfeld, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, shimon.anisfeld@yale.edu: human impacts on rivers and wetlands in coastal watersheds
  • Mark Ashton, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, mark.ashton@yale.edu: silviculture, natural forest regeneration, agroforestry, tropical and temperate forests
  • Michelle Bell, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering, Yale School of Public Health and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,michelle.bell@yale.edu: air pollution and human health by integrating several disciplines, such as environmental engineering and epidemiology
  • Gaboury Benoit, Yale Department of Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,gaboury.benoit@yale.edu: behavior, transport and fate of chemicals in natural waters, soils, sediments and biota
  • Graeme Berlyn, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, graeme.berlyn@yale.edu: morphology and physiology of trees and forests in relation to environmental stress
  • Ruth Blake, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, ruth.blake@yale.edu: environmental geomicrobiology
  • Mark Bradford, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, mark.bradford@yale.edu: ecosystem carbon and nitrogen cycling under global change
  • Derek Briggs, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, derek.briggs@yale.edu: evolutionary significance of fossils
  • Gary W. Brudvig, Yale Departments of Chemistry and Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, gary.brudvig@yale.edu: green chemistry, biophysical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry
  • Benjamin Cashore, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, benjamin.cashore@yale.edu: environmental and social certification programs, fisheries depeletion, mining destruction, environmental and social deterioration associated with global coffee production, tourism impacts on ecologically sensitive areas and sweat shop labor practices
  • Carol Carpenter, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, carol.carpenter@yale.edu: the relationship between human societies and the environment, sustainable development, agriculture and natural resources
  • Marian Chertow, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, marian.chertow@yale.edu: industrial ecology, business and environmental issues, waste management, environmental technology innovation
  • Susan Clark, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, susan.clark@yale.edu: conservation of wildlife and ecosystems
  • Mary Beth Decker, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, marybeth.decker@yale.edu; coastal and marine ecosystems
  • Michael Donoghue, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,michael.donoghue@yale.edu: phylogenetics of plants
  • Amity Doolittle, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, amity.doolittle@yale.edu: the ways society and state definine, negotiate, and contest control and access to natural resources, environmental anthropology, political ecology
  • Michael Dove, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, michael.dove@yale.edu: sustainable development and resource use, biodiversity and human society, resource-based linkages of local communities to global systems, the study of developmental and environmental institutions, discourses and movements, the sociology of resource-related societies
  • Menachem Elimelech, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, menachem.elimelech@yale.edu: physicochemical and biophysical processes in engineered and natural environmental systems, water, sanitation, and public health in developing countries
  • Alex Felson, Yale School of Architecture, alexander.felson@yale.edu: landscape architecture and urban ecology, integrating knowledge of ecological processes with the multifaceted socio-economic, political and infrastructural factors of the city
  • Durland Fish, Yale School of Medicine, Yale School of Public Health, and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,durland.fish@yale.edu: ecology and prevention of vector-borne infectious diseases
  • L. Kealoha Freidenburg, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, kealoha.freidenburg@yale.edu: sustainability, agroecology, urban environments, research methods
  • Alexander Garvin, Yale School of Architecture, alexander.garvin@yale.edu: urban planning and real estate
  • Gordon Geballe, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, gordon.geballe@yale.edu: urban ecology, climate policy and ecotourism
  • Thomas Graedel, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Geology & Geophysics and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, thomas.graedel@yale.edu: designing processes and tools to manufacture products in such a way as to minimize and optimize their environmental interactions
  • Timothy Gregoire, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, timothy.gregoire@yale.edu: statistics, natural resource management, forestry, carbon estimation
  • John Grim, Yale Divinity School and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.grim@yale.edu: religions and ecology, cosmology, climate change
  • Arnulf Grubler, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, arnulf.grubler@yale.edu: energy and technology, climate change
  • Delores Hayden, Yale Department of American Studies and Yale School of Architecture, delores.hayden@yale.edu: urban history and architecture, the built environment
  • Cynthia Horan, Yale Department of Politcal Science, cynthia.horan@yale.edu: political economy of cities and urban regions, the politics of economic restructuring
  • Benedict Kiernan, Yale Department of History, benedict.kiernan@yale.edu: environmental history, genocide
  • Matthew Kotchen, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, matthew.kotchen@yale.edu: environment and public economics, green markets
  • Walter Jetz, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, walter.jetz@yale.edu: biogeography, community ecology, landscape ecology, macroecology, global change, evolution, biodiversity informatics and conservation
  • Xuihui Lee, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, xuihui.lee@yale.edu: meteorology, air quality, remote sensing, carbon sequestration
  • Robert Mendelsohn, Yale Department of Economics, Yale School of Management, and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,robert.mendelsohn@yale.edu: air pollution damages, green house gases, climate change, valuation of ecosystems
  • Alan Mikhail, Yale Department of History, alan.mikhail@yale.edu: environmental history of the Middle East, animals, irrigation
  • William Mitch, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, william.mitch@yale.edu: public health and emerging carcinogens, climate change and oceanography, sustainability and persistent organic pollutants, engineering for sustainable wastewater recycling
  • Chad Oliver, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, chadwick.oliver@yale.edu: silviculture, public and private forest resources, natural resources management
  • Mark Pagani, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, mark.pagani@yale.edu: biogeochemistry, paleoceanography and paleoclimatology, climate change during the Cenozoic era
  • Jeffery Park, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, jeffrey.park@yale.edu: earthquakes, climate cycles, aerosols and cloud formation
  • Peter Perdue, Yale Department of History, peter.perdue@yale.edu: modern Chinese and Japanese social and economic history, history of frontiers, agricultural development and environmental history
  • Alan Plattus, Yale School of Architecture, allan.plattus@yale.edu: history of cities, urbanism, urban design
  • Jeffrey Powell, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, jeffrey.powell@yale.edu: conservation and genetics
  • Daniel Prober, Yale Department of Applied Physics, daniel.prober@yale.edu; energy and technology
  • Douglas Rae, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale School of Management, douglas.rae@yale.edu: cities in capitalist settings, urbanism, political ideas, business and economic history, competitive strategy
  • David Post, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, david.post@yale.edu: community and ecosystem ecology, food-web structure in aquatic systems, environmental change, landscape linkages, eco-evolutionary dynamics
  • Peter Raymond, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, peter.raymond@yale.edu: carbon and nitrogen cycles within aquatic systems
  • Susan Rose-Ackerman, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale Law School, susan.rose-ackerman@yale.edu: corruption, public policy and administration, environmental policy
  • Elihu Rubin, Yale School of Architecture, elihu.rubin@yale.edu: city planning, cultural landscapes, urban transportation
  • Paul Sabin, Yale Department of History, paul.sabin@yale.edu: environmental history, energy politics, natural resource development in the Western US
  • James E. Saiers, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, james.saiers@yale.edu: hydrology, geochemistry, chemical engineering, circulation of water and the movementof waterborne chemicals in surface and subsurface environments
  • Oswald Schmitz, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,oswald.schmitz@yale.edu: terrestrial food-webs, natural system resilience, how plant-herbivore interactions are mediated by carnivores and soil nutrient levels
  • James Scott, Yale Departments of Anthropology and Political Science, james.scott@yale.edu: political economy, agrarian studies
  • Karen Seto, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, karen.seto@yale.edu: dynamics of urban land-use change
  • Shivi Sivaramakrishnan, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,kalyanakrishnan.sivaramakrishnan@yale.edu: environmental history, political anthropology, cultural geography, rural development
  • David Skelly, Yale Department of Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,david.skelly@yale.edu: ecology and dynamics and fate of animal populations and communities around two main themes- emerging diseases and population responses to dynamic landscapes
  • Brian Skinner, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, brian.skinner@yale.edu: mineral deposits, natural resources, earth system science
  • Catherine Skinner, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, catherine.skinner@yale.edu: biominerals and orthopaedics
  • Ronald B. Smith, Yale Departments of Geology & Geophysics and Mechanical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, ronald.smith@yale.edu: atmospheric dynamics and physics, regional climate, remote sensing
  • Stephen Stearns, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, stephen.stearns@yale.edu: history and evolution, evolutionary medicine, genomics
  • C. Dana Tomlin, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, charles.tomlin@yale.edu: ArcGIS, geographic modeling
  • Mary Evelyn Tucker, Yale Divinity School and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, maryevelyn.tucker@yale.edu: religions and the environment
  • John Wargo, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.wargo@yale.edu: environment and public health, children’s exposure to pollutants
  • Harvey Weiss, Yale Departments of Near Eastern Languages and Anthropology, harvey.weiss@yale.edu: Mesopotamia, early agriculture, cities and empires, paleoclimatology and environmental change
  • Robert Wyman, Yale Department of Molecular, Cellula & Developmental Biology, robert.wyman@yale.edu: intercellular communication, molecular signaling, population growth
  • Carl Zimmer, science writer and Yale College lecturer, carl@carlzimmer.com: writing about science and the environment
  • Julie Zimmerman, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,julie.zimmerman@yale.edu: green engineering, environmentally benign design and manufacturing, the fate and impacts of anthropogenic compounds in the environment, water treatment technology in the developing world