Yale College Environmental Studies Associated Faculty

  • Shimon Anisfeld, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, shimon.anisfeld@yale.edu: human impacts on rivers and wetlands in coastal watersheds

  • Mark Ashton, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, mark.ashton@yale.edu: silviculture, natural forest regeneration, agroforestry, tropical and temperate forests

  • Ned Blackhawk, Yale Department of History and American Studies, ned.blackhawk@yale.edu: Native American Studies and Native American student support

  • Michelle Bell, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering, Yale School of Public Health and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,michelle.bell@yale.edu: air pollution and human health by integrating several disciplines, such as environmental engineering and epidemiology

  • Gaboury Benoit, Yale Department of Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,gaboury.benoit@yale.edu: behavior, transport and fate of chemicals in natural waters, soils, sediments and biota

  • Graeme Berlyn, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, graeme.berlyn@yale.edu: morphology and physiology of trees and forests in relation to environmental stress

  • Mark Bradford, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, mark.bradford@yale.edu: ecosystem carbon and nitrogen cycling under global change

  • Derek Briggs, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, derek.briggs@yale.edu: evolutionary significance of fossils

  • Gary W. Brudvig, Yale Departments of Chemistry and Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, gary.brudvig@yale.edu: green chemistry, biophysical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry

  • Benjamin Cashore, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, benjamin.cashore@yale.edu: environmental and social certification programs, fisheries depeletion, mining destruction, environmental and social deterioration associated with global coffee production, tourism impacts on ecologically sensitive areas and sweat shop labor practices

  • Carol Carpenter, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, carol.carpenter@yale.edu: the relationship between human societies and the environment, sustainable development, agriculture and natural resources

  • Surjit Chandhoke, Yale Residential College Dean, Trumbull College; Lecturer & Research Scientist, MCDB, surjit.chandhoke@yale.edu.

  • Marian Chertow, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, marian.chertow@yale.edu: industrial ecology, business and environmental issues, waste management, environmental technology innovation

  • Susan Clark, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, susan.clark@yale.edu: conservation of wildlife and ecosystems

  • Mary Beth Decker, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, marybeth.decker@yale.edu; coastal and marine ecosystems

  • Michael Donoghue, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,michael.donoghue@yale.edu: phylogenetics of plants

  • Amity Doolittle, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, amity.doolittle@yale.edu: the ways society and state define, negotiate, and contest control and access to natural resources, environmental anthropology, political ecology

  • Michael Dove, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, michael.dove@yale.edu: sustainable development and resource use, biodiversity and human society, resource-based linkages of local communities to global systems, the study of developmental and environmental institutions, discourses and movements, the sociology of resource-related societies

  • Marlyse Duguid, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, marlyse.duguid@yale.edu:  plant diversity and composition as it relates to human land use and disturbance. Current focus on temperate forest understory plant communities.

  • Menachem Elimelech, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, menachem.elimelech@yale.edu: physicochemical and biophysical processes in engineered and natural environmental systems, water, sanitation, and public health in developing countries

  • Daniel Esty, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, Yale Law School, and  Yale School of Management, daniel.esty@yale.edu: environmental and energy policy.

  • Eduardo Fernandez-Duque, Yale Department of Anthropology, eduardo.fernandez-duque@yale.edu: evolution and maintenance of social systems, specifically mechanisms that maintain social monogamy and the role that sexual selection

  • L. Kealoha Freidenburg, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, kealoha.freidenburg@yale.edu: sustainability, agroecology, urban environments, research methods

  • Michael Fotos,  Yale Department of Political Science, michael.fotos@yale.edu: political theory and policy analysis, coal mining regulation, voter turnout, and ecosystem services.

  • Gordon Geballe, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, gordon.geballe@yale.edu: urban ecology, climate policy and ecotourism

  • Timothy Gregoire, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, timothy.gregoire@yale.edu: statistics, natural resource management, forestry, carbon estimation

  • John Grim, Yale Divinity School and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.grim@yale.edu: religions and ecology, cosmology, climate change

  • Benedict Kiernan, Yale Department of History, benedict.kiernan@yale.edu: environmental history, genocide

  • Matthew Kotchen, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, matthew.kotchen@yale.edu: environment and public economics, green markets

  • Walter Jetz, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, walter.jetz@yale.edu: biogeography, community ecology, landscape ecology, macroecology, global change, evolution, biodiversity informatics and conservation

  • William Lauenroth, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, william.lauenroth@yale.edu: plant population and community ecology; ecohydrology, ecosystem ecology, and the effects of projected climate change on plant communities and ecosystems

  • Xuihui Lee, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, xuihui.lee@yale.edu: meteorology, air quality, remote sensing, carbon sequestration

  • Robert Mendelsohn, Yale Department of Economics, Yale School of Management, and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,robert.mendelsohn@yale.edu: air pollution damages, green house gases, climate change, valuation of ecosystems

  • Alan Mikhail, Yale Department of History, alan.mikhail@yale.edu: environmental history of the Middle East, animals, irrigation

  • Charles Musser, Professor American Studies, Film & Media Studies and Theater Studies, charles.musser@yale.edu: film and media historiography, American cinema and documentary film

  • Jeffery Park, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, jeffrey.park@yale.edu: earthquakes, climate cycles, aerosols and cloud formation

  • Peter Perdue, Yale Department of History, peter.perdue@yale.edu: modern Chinese and Japanese social and economic history, history of frontiers, agricultural development and environmental history

  • Stephen Pitti, Yale Department of History and of American Studies; Director, Center for the Study of Race, Indigeneity and Transnational Migration, stephen.pitti@yale.edu: Latino Studies, Ethnic Studies, Western History, 20th-century immigration, civil rights, and related subjects

  • Alan Plattus, Yale School of Architecture, allan.plattus@yale.edu: history of cities, urbanism, urban design

  • David Post, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, david.post@yale.edu: community and ecosystem ecology, food-web structure in aquatic systems, environmental change, landscape linkages, eco-evolutionary dynamics

  • Jeffrey Powell, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, jeffrey.powell@yale.edu: conservation and genetics

  • Daniel Prober, Yale Department of Applied Physics, daniel.prober@yale.edu; energy and technology

  • Peter Raymond, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, peter.raymond@yale.edu: carbon and nitrogen cycles within aquatic systems

  • Susan Rose-Ackerman, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale Law School, susan.rose-ackerman@yale.edu: corruption, public policy and administration, environmental policy

  • Elihu Rubin, Yale School of Architecture, elihu.rubin@yale.edu: city planning, cultural landscapes, urban transportation

  • Paul Sabin, Yale Department of History, paul.sabin@yale.edu: environmental history, energy politics, natural resource development in the Western US

  • James E. Saiers, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, james.saiers@yale.edu: hydrology, geochemistry, chemical engineering, circulation of water and the movementof waterborne chemicals in surface and subsurface environments

  • Oswald Schmitz, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,oswald.schmitz@yale.edu: terrestrial food-webs, natural system resilience, how plant-herbivore interactions are mediated by carnivores and soil nutrient levels

  • James Scott, Yale Departments of Anthropology and Political Science, james.scott@yale.edu: political economy, agrarian studies

  • Karen Seto, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, karen.seto@yale.edu: dynamics of urban land-use change

  • Shivi Sivaramakrishnan, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,kalyanakrishnan.sivaramakrishnan@yale.edu: environmental history, political anthropology, cultural geography, rural development

  • David Skelly, Yale Department of Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,david.skelly@yale.edu: ecology and dynamics and fate of animal populations and communities around two main themes- emerging diseases and population responses to dynamic landscapes

  • Brian Skinner, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, brian.skinner@yale.edu: mineral deposits, natural resources, earth system science

  • Catherine Skinner, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, catherine.skinner@yale.edu: biominerals and orthopaedics

  • Ronald B. Smith, Yale Departments of Geology & Geophysics and Mechanical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, ronald.smith@yale.edu: atmospheric dynamics and physics, regional climate, remote sensing

  • Carla Staver, Yale Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, carla.staver@yale.edu: empirical and theoretical approaches to explore the dynamics and distributions of biomes, with a special focus on tropical savanna and forest

  • Stephen Stearns, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, stephen.stearns@yale.edu: history and evolution, evolutionary medicine, genomics

  • Peter Swenson, Yale Department of Political Science and Institute for Social and Policy Studies, peter.swenson@yale.edu: comparative political economy of labor markets, social welfare, health care, and environmental politics in Europe and the United States.

  • C. Dana Tomlin, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, charles.tomlin@yale.edu: ArcGIS, geographic modeling

  • Mary Evelyn Tucker, Yale Divinity School and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, maryevelyn.tucker@yale.edu: religions and the environment

  • John Wargo, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.wargo@yale.edu: environment and public health, children’s exposure to pollutants

  • John Warner, Yale Department of History of Medicine (Chair), American Studies, and History, john.warner@yale.edu: cultural and social history of medicine in the U.S. from the early19th century to the present, professional identity, education, clinical practice, the visual cultures of medicine, and transnational and transcultural comparison

  • Michael Warner, Yale Department of English and American Studies, Michael.warner@yale.edu: the early history of evangelicalism in America, and climate change

  • Marta Wells, Yale Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, marta.wells@yale.edu: Insect behavior and Evolution. Mating signal and speciation in Neuropteran insects.

  • Harvey Weiss, Yale Departments of Near Eastern Languages and Anthropology, harvey.weiss@yale.edu: Mesopotamia, early agriculture, cities and empires, paleoclimatology and environmental change

  • Robert Wyman, Yale Department of Molecular, Cellula & Developmental Biology, robert.wyman@yale.edu: intercellular communication, molecular signaling, population growth

  • Carl Zimmer, science writer and Yale College lecturer, carl@carlzimmer.com: writing about science and the environment

  • Julie Zimmerman, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies,julie.zimmerman@yale.edu: green engineering, environmentally benign design and manufacturing, the fate and impacts of anthropogenic compounds in the environment, water treatment technology in the developing world