Program Staff

John Wargo's picture John Wargo, Ph.D.
Chair, Tweedy/Ordway Professor Yale School of the Environment
Kroon Hall, Room 124
john.wargo@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 432-5123
Kealoha Freidenburg's picture Kealoha Freidenburg, Ph.D.
Associate DUS, BS Program; Lecturer in Environmental Studies and Yale School of Environment
kealoha.freidenburg@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 464-7269
Michael Fotos's picture Michael Fotos, Ph.D.
DUS, Lecturer in Environmental Studies and Political Science
Whitney Humanities Center 53 Wall Street, Room 219
michael.fotos@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 436-5190
Charlotte Murphy's picture Charlotte Murphy
Student Director
charlotte.murphy@yale.edu
Phone: (631) 897-6212
Adriana Maciel Metal's picture Adriana Maciel Metal
Social Media Coordinator
adriana.macielmetal@yale.edu
Linda Evenson's picture Linda Evenson
Program Manager
Kroon Hall, Room G-04
linda.evenson@yale.edu
Phone: Office: (203) 432-9868 Cell: (860) 227-6549

Environmental Studies Advisory Committee: 2021-22

  • Gary W. Brudvig, Yale Departments of Chemistry and Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, gary.brudvig@yale.edu: green chemistry, biophysical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry

  • Robert Dubrow, Yale School of Public Health, robert.dubrow@yale.edu: cancer, HIV, and their intersection;  glioma and HIV-related malignancies; climate change and health.

  • Anna Dyson, Yale School of Architecture and Yale School of the Environment, anna.dyson@yale.edu: novel architectural systems focused on reinventing the DNA of the built fabric to take on the challenge of metabolizing energy, water and materials within architecture in radically new ways.

  • Michael Fotos, Yale Department of Political Science, michael.fotos@yale.edu: political theory and policy analysis, coal mining regulation, voter turnout, and ecosystem services.  

  • Kealoha Freidenburg, Yale School of the Environment, kealoha.freidenburg@yale.edufreshwater ecosystems with a particular focus on amphibians, ecology, conservation, and field-based approaches to learning. 

  • Michael Oristaglio, Yale Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, michael.oristaglio@yale.edu: geologic sequestration of carbon dioxide by mineral carbonation; mathematics of seismic imaging and inversion; airborne geophysical remote sensing; technology and policy strategies for sustainable resource management.

  • Jeffery Park, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, jeffrey.park@yale.edu: earthquakes, climate cycles, aerosols and cloud formation

  • Stephen Pitti, Yale Department of History and of American Studies; Director, Center for the Study of Race, Indigeneity and Transnational Migration, stephen.pitti@yale.edu: Latino Studies, Ethnic Studies, Western History, 20th-century immigration, civil rights, and related subjects

  • Jennifer Raab, Yale Department of the History of Art, jennifer.raab@yale.eduart of the United States and the history of photography; landscape studies, the history of science and medicine, the visual culture of war, racial violence, and memory, and the intersections between texts and images.

  • Elihu Rubin, Yale School of Architecture and American Studies, elihu.rubin@yale.edu: built environments of nineteenth and twentieth-century cities, history and theory of city planning, urban geography and the cultural landscape, transportation and mobility, architectural preservation and heritage planning, and the social life of urban space

  • Paul Sabin, Yale Department of History, paul.sabin@yale.edu: environmental history, energy politics, natural resource development in the Western US

  • Oswald Schmitz, Yale School of the Environment, oswald.schmitz@yale.edu: dyanmics and structure of terrestrial food webs

  • Karen SetoYale School of the Environment, karen.seto@yale.edu: contemporary urbanization and global environmental change, urbanization and land use, food systems, biodiversity, and climate change.

  • Shivi Sivaramakrishnan, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, kalyanakrishnan.sivaramakrishnan@yale.edu: environmental history, political anthropology, cultural geography, rural development

  • Carla Staver, Yale Department of  Ecology and Evolutionary Biology: empirical and theoretical approaches to explore the dynamics and distributions of biomes, with a special focus on tropical savanna and forest

  • Paul Turner, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, paul.turner@yale.edu: infectious disease, evolutionary medicine

  • John Wargo, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.wargo@yale.edu: environment and public health, children’s exposure to pollutants

  • Michael Warner, Yale Department of English, michael.warner@yale.edu: Early American literature and print culture

  • Harvey Weiss, Yale Department of Near East Languages and Civilizations, harvey.weiss@yale.edu: Early agriculture, anthropocene

All Environmental Studies Associated Faculty