Congratulations to the 2022 Gaylord Donnelley Prize winners!

May 24, 2022

The Gaylord Donnelley Prize  was awarded to six seniors for excellent interdisciplinary scholarship demonstrated in their Environmental Studies senior essay. Congratulations to the following seniors:

Helen Dugmore (Timothy Dwight College ) Winds of Change: Insurance, Climate Science and the Moral Economy of Risk at the IBHS Research Center

Sean Johnson (Grace Hopper College) An Analysis of Capital Flows within US Climate Tech Venture Capital

Danielle Losos (Saybrook College) Weather Satellites for Wildfire Tracking: Mapping Burned Area in Near-Real Time using Geostationary Satellite Data

Caroline Magavern (Berkeley College) Curators of Climate Change: Art Museums in the Anthropocene

Evan Parker (Morse College) An Assessment of Geographic and Taxonomic Biases in Research on Climate Change-Related Range Shifts

Katie Schlick (Silliman College) Disaster, Human Mobility, & Networks of Care: How the U.S. government can mitigate the challenge of managing chronic disease and mental health in populations displaced by natural disaster

Since 1999, the Environmental Studies Program has recognized its most outstanding senior essays with the Gaylord Donnelley Prize. It is funded by an endowment from the Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation and the Donnelley Family, in memory of Mr. Gaylord Donnelley, a conservationist dedicated to advances in research and education.